JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use the Site in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options.

| Last Updated::17/11/2021

Major Activity


Steel Minister chaired meeting Consultative Committee of Members of Parliament


Date | 15 Nov 2021:


A meeting of the Consultative Committee of the Members of Parliament for the Ministry of Steel was held today at Kevadiya, District Narmada in Gujarat on the subject “Steel Usage”. The meeting was chaired by the Minister of Steel Shri Ram Chandra Prasad Singh.


Welcoming the members, the Minister said that Steel has been playing an important role in the industrial development of India, as it is a key input for critical sectors such as Infrastructure, Construction, Engineering & Packaging, Automobile and Defence.


India has become the world’s second-largest producer as well as consumer of steel. During the financial year 2020-21, the total finished steel consumption in the country was 96.2 Million Tonnes and is expected to reach about 160 Million Tonnes (MT) by 2024-25 and about 250 MT by 2030-31.


The Government is continuously making efforts to enhance steel production capacity domestically and at the same time increase domestic demand and usage of steel. Construction and Infrastructure sectors are major consumers of steel and will continuously be the driver of increased consumption of steel.


The Government’s recently announced GatiShakti Master Plan will complement the Rs. 100 lakh crore investment plan for infrastructure development over the next five years. This will further give a boost to steel usage in the country.


Hon’ble MPs made many important suggestions regarding the Steel sector, and particularly about the initiatives that can boost steel usage further in the country. Honorable MPs- S/Shri Janardan Singh Sigriwal, Bidyut Baran Mahato, Satish Chandra Dubey, Akhilesh Prasad Singh, Chandra Prakash Choudhary, Saptagiri Sankar Ulaka, and Prataprao Govindrao Patil Chikhalikar also took part in the meeting.